Thread: Updating to CWS5.6

Default Updating to CWS5.6

I am a Fiery newbie running a Xerox Doc260 with a Fiery EX260 server running version 8 release 2 and CWS5.3. The update page indicates that I should be able to update to CWS5.6 with this configuration, but when I download the CWS5.6 and try to install it I get a message that I need to have version 9 or higher. If this is the case, is v9 a free software update or a paid upgrade, and will it work on this configuration? My primary motivation for wanting to upgrade is so I can install the Hot Folders software on the server. With CWS5.3 on v8,2 I am not able to do that. Thanks in advance for your help.

Hey,

5.3 is most up to package you can install on the EX server itself. You can install the newer versions on a PC or Mac that's on your network and run the Fiery from there. Not 100% sure about the hot folders. But you should at least be able to use the hotfolders on the Ex server that are bundled with the 5.3 installer.

When I installed CWS5.3 from this page: http://w3.efi.com/Fiery/Products/CWS...d-53/thank-you there was a note that:: If you are installing directly on a Fiery System 6, 7, 8 or 8 R2 server, the Hot Folders, Remote Scan and Fiery Bridge applications will not install. You will only be able to install these additional applications on a client workstation.. There is an older version of Hot Folders on the server, but not nearly as useful as the newer versions. Looks like the answer is to install CWS with all the extras on another computer.

GarethO is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor GarethO is on a distinguished path

Yes, I agree, there are serious mixed messages sent when it come to this.

This page says "If you wish to install Command WorkStation directly on a System 8 Release 2 Fiery server, you will need to install Command WorkStation 5.3."