Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Moving Imposition Templates from CW4 to CW5

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    GarethO is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor GarethO is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    41

    Default Moving Imposition Templates from CW4 to CW5

    I am about to upgrade an Imagepress A1100 server from CW4 to CW5.

    We have quite a few custom imposition templates which we need to run with CW5.

    When I update the server using the update function in CW4 with all of these templates be lost?

    There is an option to give a path for imposition templates in CW5, but no such obvious path in CW4 so I am not sure which directory these templates actually stored in. I am happy to copy them into the new location if I knew where they are on the (windows) server on CW4.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    adam1991 is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,029

    Default

    CWS5 can co-exist with CWS4 on the same machine--last I knew you chose that option at the time you install CWS5--so there's no harm in slowly migrating to CWS5.

    So this lets you try it to see what happens.

  3. #3
    GarethO is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor GarethO is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    41

    Default

    I know the latest version of CW5 runs on the server as I have installed on a PC and connected remotely. Everything works fine, except getting those templates into CW5.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    284

    Default

    You should be able to move your Impose templates from CWS4 and use them in CWS5 by the following:

    If you copy imposition templates from the CWS4 location (found in the Imposition_Settings directory defined in the CWS4 preferences) to the CWS5 location (as defined in the CWS5 preferences) and add the extension .dbt, the imposition templates can be accessed from within CWS5.

    -Mike

  5. #5
    GarethO is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor GarethO is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Thanks for that.

    Now my issue is I have icons in my templates list and I want a word list.

    How can I change this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Make sure you update to the latest version of Command WorkStation 5 available from efi.com/cws5. If you download the Fiery Extended Applications Package v4.2 you will get CWS5.6. We updated the impose template list a release or two back to show a list instead of by icon, as strongly requested by feedback on the forum

    -Mike

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts