Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Newbie help please - choosing a Fiery for a DocuColor 242

steveclv is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor steveclv is on a distinguished path

Default Newbie help please - choosing a Fiery for a DocuColor 242

I am purchasing a used DC-242 and the vendor has various Fierys available for me to choose from.

We run Mac OSX 10.9 Mavericks and I know that support is limited or even non-existant for the older Fierys so I believe that we could use hot folders to drop pdf files for print into and then use the fiery workstation to manage and print - please tell me if I am wrong here as I am a complete newbie at this - but learning fast.

What version of Fiery should I be asking for? Bustled or External?

Any guidance towards the best solution and a suggestion regarding workflow would be an immense help

Thanks!

Phobos01 is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor Phobos01 is on a distinguished path

Yes, you could use a Hot Folder to import jobs. I usually just import jobs directly into the hold queue via the Command Workstation program. that way , the jobs do not have to be converted to Post Script before being rendered. Once you have them in the hold queue you can make any adjustments or settings needed and release it to the print queue.

Phobos01 is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor Phobos01 is on a distinguished path

Also, the External rips are more powerful and usually have more features than bustled, however the 242 Externals ran Win XP. the bustled fierys run a version of unix. something to consider.

steveclv is offline Senior Fiery Forum Contributor steveclv is on a distinguished path

Thanks.

I just got a photo of the actual tower and it says PRO80-01 on the back - I googled it and it said it's an EX260 - does that differ from the EXP260 and am I on track for having a working system that can handle the Mac's via hot folders?

Does the unit require a dongle (in which case I need to ensure it's gets sent with the fiery).