Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 140

Thread: Wishlist for future versions of Command Workstation

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default Wishlist for future versions of Command Workstation

    Hi,

    i did not find a wishlist thread in the forum so im asking you all.
    What are your wishes for a next version of command workstation?
    What will be time savers in your workflow?

    Maybe EFI ist reading this thread an will build it into the software if possible.

    My personal wishes for a next version are:

    - to set the amount of copies for the job directly in the job summary field so i didn`t have to open the properties every time
    - to choose a print preference also directly in the job summary panel an rip an hold it there.
    - a better way to save and sort templates in the impose panel, like a list or something
    - to sort the job preferences in the properties field and a way to change the job preferences and not to make a new one every time i want to build in changes.
    - In Impose to shoot out broshures with no automated duplex on paper over 180gsm
    - a way that new features also work on old systems cause the is not always a possible way to bring a new system to an old printer.


    So these are some of my wishes, which for me would be real time savers.
    And now I am interested in your wishes.


    have a nice weekend
    drfoots

    CWS 5.3.21, XEROX EFI PRO80 System 8R2, MAC OS X

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Hi,
    At EFI web are definitely reading the threads on the forum so yes, they influence future development. We love seeing ideas like these!

    We are considering some of these ideas now. Some of the features we can make work on existing Fierys in the field because they are changes only in the Command Workstation software; others require changes to the Fiery itself.

    Can you give me some more details on what you mean by Impose automatically printing duplex jobs on > 180gsm media? If the engine can't duplex over 180 gsm, do you want Impose to be able to prepare the impose job to be manually duplexed?

    Love the suggestions!

    -Mike

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I would also like to add to the wish list.

    In previous versions of command workstation 5 (I think prior to 5.3) there was the ability to save presets and overwrite existing presets by selecting from the drop down. With the current version (we are at 5.3.1.32d) you get a text box where you have to type the Presets name exactly as previously entered if you want to overwrite it. The ability to put spaces in the name of a preset has also been eliminated.

    We would like the ability to manage the presets not only locally but across multiple machines. Should the presets not be stored on the Fiery and accessible to all workstation connected to it? This last request might already exist but we are unaware of it if it does.

    Thanks for being open to the feature requests.

  4. #4
    Steve0 is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor Steve0 is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yannstlo View Post
    We would like the ability to manage the presets not only locally but across multiple machines. Should the presets not be stored on the Fiery and accessible to all workstation connected to it? This last request might already exist but we are unaware of it if it does.
    Server-based presets are a feature of Fiery System 10! Yay!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike_R View Post
    Hi,



    Can you give me some more details on what you mean by Impose automatically printing duplex jobs on > 180gsm media? If the engine can't duplex over 180 gsm, do you want Impose to be able to prepare the impose job to be manually duplexed?

    Love the suggestions!

    -Mike
    Hello Mike,

    thanks for your response. Its nice to hear that you love those wishlists.
    To your question.
    - Yes i would like to duplex it manually, like other pages. I like to see all possible duplex forms, like: off, and both duplex forms, sorry but don´t know how they are called in english.

    - It would also be nice that i can make new print sheets on my own for front and backprint. Now im only able to import new pages but not print sheets.

    - the page with the impose templates is a complete mess, because the pages are not sortet in any way i can understand. we have given them numbers because the lack of space to give them real names. But they are not sorted like ascending numbers or the order i have saved them or anything else i can understand or imagine.

    Name:  impose_templates.png
Views: 6176
Size:  125.8 KB

    Is there a possible way to change the order of the entries? like a xml file or anything else i can rewrite? where is it saved on the rip?

    With searching the right template we are loosing a lot of time every day.

    I am sure i can find a lot more little things which you might can change or improve in a next version, if its possible.

    I also like to the things yannstlo mentioned

    greetings
    drfoots

  6. #6
    adam1991 is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful adam1991 has proven very helpful
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,029

    Default

    For a long, long time--going all the way back to the beginning of Command Station, nee CWS--I've wanted to organize jobs in folders inside the interface.

    Also, let's finish up details like being able to organize, rename, and export job settings/template files. Let's make them all one common thing, easily applied across the job properties and hot folders and whatnot, and maybe--just maybe--stored at the server level, so that any CWS anywhere that connects to server XYZ will automatically get these "server level" templates as well as maybe that user's own local templates.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Multiple Jobs with the same name

    Hi
    Here a basic one that I cannot believe got thru. Why are you able to place a job with the same name in as many times as you like?? You should have a prompt that says do you want to replace the job. What a hassle it is to either delete the old one or remember to delete it after you import the same one. Then if it gets archived and maybe down the line moved back in the hold it adds another one. What a mess that creates plus I am sure a few of you out there have ran the wrong file because of this too. Thats just one of the flaws still in the current version that bugs me.

  8. #8
    Steve0 is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor Steve0 is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    249

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by tikiranch View Post
    Hi
    Here a basic one that I cannot believe got thru. Why are you able to place a job with the same name in as many times as you like?? You should have a prompt that says do you want to replace the job. What a hassle it is to either delete the old one or remember to delete it after you import the same one. Then if it gets archived and maybe down the line moved back in the hold it adds another one. What a mess that creates plus I am sure a few of you out there have ran the wrong file because of this too. Thats just one of the flaws still in the current version that bugs me.
    If there was a Facebook-like "like" button on this forum, I'd be pressing it now, for this suggestion!

    Maybe a way to sort multiple iterations of the same-named job would be to time-stamp them with the last time they were sent to print (or completed printing).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    25

    Default Duplicate file names

    Quote Originally Posted by tikiranch View Post
    Hi
    Here a basic one that I cannot believe got thru. Why are you able to place a job with the same name in as many times as you like?? You should have a prompt that says do you want to replace the job. What a hassle it is to either delete the old one or remember to delete it after you import the same one. Then if it gets archived and maybe down the line moved back in the hold it adds another one. What a mess that creates plus I am sure a few of you out there have ran the wrong file because of this too. Thats just one of the flaws still in the current version that bugs me.
    When I upgraded to El Capitan, I noticed that my direct to queue files were showing up in CWS with a serialized number at the beginning of the name.

    While it was cool that even duplicate file names had a different serial number at the beginning so I could tell what order they were sent, it interfered with my job number.

    I couldn't list alphabetical anymore because it would alphabetize by its own serial number and not my job number. I remember wishing that they would have just appended a number to the END of the file name so it wouldn't interfere with my job numbers, but I dealt with it. It was kind of nice being able to serialize the same named files.

    I don't know if someone was testing something new out, or it was a weird bug that occurred with my system upgrade; but next upgrade, this "feature/bug" was gone.

    Can anyone at EFI shed some light on this weird phenom? It kind of works in with what the OP was getting at; a way to tell the difference between duplicate file names. This serialization would have been great -- had it been given its own field rather than appending the file name.


    I no longer have any of these jobs in my active queue, but here is a screen shot of what the serialized number looked like from the print log. The duplicates appearing were where the job was printed multiple times, they only showed up in the queue once.
    Last edited by Sherry Baker; 06-14-2016 at 07:58 AM. Reason: clarification

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default I agree with the need to organize jobs in folders.

    Quote Originally Posted by adam1991 View Post
    For a long, long time--going all the way back to the beginning of Command Station, nee CWS--I've wanted to organize jobs in folders inside the interface.

    Also, let's finish up details like being able to organize, rename, and export job settings/template files. Let's make them all one common thing, easily applied across the job properties and hot folders and whatnot, and maybe--just maybe--stored at the server level, so that any CWS anywhere that connects to server XYZ will automatically get these "server level" templates as well as maybe that user's own local templates.
    I agree with the need to organize jobs in folders. Especially when you are using impose and or building output files from multiple input files. That way all of the project files could be put together. You could also organize specific clients jobs together for easier reprints later on. After you get over 1,000 jobs - it starts to get very cumbersome. Folders would greatly improve the ability to organize jobs.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts