Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: User Acount on DCP700

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Red face User Acount on DCP700

    Name:  user.bmp
Views: 772
Size:  147.5 KB

    We have a Xerox DCP700. I manage to create user accounts and gave them all Admin right. But how do I get the User name to display in the drop down list when logging onto the server?
    Last edited by kris; 01-18-2012 at 09:03 AM. Reason: Xerox
    Kris
    DPAS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Is this XP-Pro or XPe? Where are you adding the user accounts? Thanks, Craig

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig M View Post
    Is this XP-Pro or XPe? Where are you adding the user accounts? Thanks, Craig
    Hello Graig,

    XP-Pro.

    I have added the accounts in Command Workstation 5; Device Center; Users; Configure.

    Thank you
    Kris.
    Kris
    DPAS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Kris,
    Those users are for setting up secure printing, not for logging into CWS. You would add your users to the Users and Groups, uncheck the "Allow users to print without authentication" This would force users to enter a password when printing. Thanks, Craig

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig M View Post
    Kris,
    Those users are for setting up secure printing, not for logging into CWS. You would add your users to the Users and Groups, uncheck the "Allow users to print without authentication" This would force users to enter a password when printing. Thanks, Craig
    Hello Craig

    Can Users be setup for logging into CWS? I need to control the access with regard to data protection compliance. Unfortunately the default password for Administrator on CWS has been made rather public in our environment and all users sign onto Windows with a generic Sign in.
    Kris
    DPAS

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Passwords.doc Kris,
    I understand now what you're looking for. Yes, that can be done and I've attached a screen shot for instructions. Remember, if you change the administrator password on the Fiery, and you forget it, there's no way to recover other than reinstalling system software. You can change the passwrd for admin and operator only. Guest is blank by default, but they have no rights anyway.
    Thanks, Craig

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig M View Post
    Attachment 596 Kris,
    I understand now what you're looking for. Yes, that can be done and I've attached a screen shot for instructions. Remember, if you change the administrator password on the Fiery, and you forget it, there's no way to recover other than reinstalling system software. You can change the passwrd for admin and operator only. Guest is blank by default, but they have no rights anyway.
    Thanks, Craig
    Thank you Craig, it is a step in the right direction. I have 4 operators, and was rather hoping that I could give them all their own sign on and password. But it doesn't seem as if CWS allows for this?
    Kris.
    Kris
    DPAS

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts