Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AS/400 and Fiery

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3

    Post AS/400 and Fiery

    Hi,

    We have a customer that wants to setup an AS/400 print queue with the Fiery E7100/ MPC7500.

    The customer would like to know the following settings that need to be specified when creating an AS/400 print queue:

    - Manufacturer type and model (MFRTYPMDL): ?????
    - System driver program (SYSDRVPGM ): ?????
    - Workstation customizing object (WSCST) : ????

    Do you have any instructions on how to setup AS/400 print queue?

    Thanks
    td

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sydney, AU
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Hello td,

    The following settings should work for creating a Printer Device Description DEVD.
    The direct queue on the Fiery must be configured to Port 9100. This is due to the AS/400 requiring bidirectional communication with the printer.

    Setting Value
    DEVCLS *LAN
    TYPE 3812
    MODEL 1
    LANATTACH *IP
    PORT 9100
    ATTACH *DIRECT
    ONLINE *YES
    FONT 11
    FORMFEED *AUTOCUT
    SEPDRAWER *FILE
    SEPPGM *NONE
    PRTERRMSG *INQ
    MSGQ *CTLD
    QSYSOPR
    QSYS
    ACTTMR 170
    INACTTMR *SEC15
    LINESPEED 19200
    WORDLEN 8
    PARITY *NONE
    STOPBITS 1
    TRANSFORM *YES
    MFRTYPMDL *WSCSTA4
    PPRSRC1 *A4
    PPRSRC2 *A4
    ENVELOPE *C5
    ASCII899 *NO
    IMGCFG *NO
    CHRID *SYSVAL
    RMTLOCNAME "ip address of printer"
    WSCST QWPDEFAULT
    QSYS
    USRDFNOBJ *NONE
    USRDTATFM *NONE
    SYSDRVPGM *HPPJLDRV

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi
    Many thanks for the information.
    TD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi, I am the customer mentioned above and just by chance I stumbled upon this forum on a Google search.

    I have tried those settings on our AS/400 and when I send a spool file to the OUTQ, it changes the status to PND then hangs for about 30 seconds then drops the queue completely. The only thing I can see in the log is that the writer ended abnormally, giving no reason why.

    Have you got any other suggestions on how to set this up? I have been told that it may be possible to set the device up as a *RMT as opposed to *LAN but I am unsure how to actually configure an AS/400 printer this way.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    404

    Default

    Attached are steps for creating a remote OUTQ. Does it provide what you are looking for? Please let me know if it helps.

    Thank you,
    Bruce
    Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for your quick reply. We successfully created the OUTQ and were able to print to it straight away. The only thing we had to play around with was the WSCST settings as we use A4 paper, not Letter, but it is now working perfectly.

    Thanks again
    Mark

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts