Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: "Calibration failed!" error message

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Question "Calibration failed!" error message

    We have an Ikon CPP500 with the X3eTY-EF93 server and ES-1000 densitometer.
    My workstation is running up-to-date Win7x64, CWS 5.2 (now), and Java 6 update 21 x32.

    My setup summary
    Code:
    Server Information:
    		Server name: X3eTY-EF93
    		Version: 2.01
    		Fiery System: 8e
    		Password Enabled: No
    		Total Disk Space: 68.6 (GB)
    		Free Disk Space: 53.8 (GB)
    		Total Memory: 359 (MB)
    
    
    Server Setup:
    		Print Start Page: No
    		Use Character Set: Macintosh
    		Allow printing from: All users
    
    		Enable Printed Queue: Yes
    		Jobs Saved in Printed Queue: 10
    
    		Preview while processing: No
    		USB Media Autoprint: Disabled
    
    		Time Zone: Chicago (CST)
    
    
    Network Setup - Port Setup:
    	Ethernet
    		Ethernet enabled: Yes
    		Ethernet Address: 00:E0:81:5F:EF:93
    		Ethernet Speed: Auto
    		MAC Address Filtering: No
    
    		Enable USB Port: Yes
    
    
    Network Setup - Protocol Setup:
    	Appletalk
    		Enable AppleTalk: Yes
    		Zone Name: 
    
    	IPv4 Setup
    		Enable Auto IP: No
    		IP address: 192.168.0.20
    		Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    		Get gateway address automatically: No
    		Gateway Address: 192.168.0.1
    
    	Security Setup
    		IP Filtering: No
    		Port filtering: No
    		IPSec Setup: No
    
    	IPv6 Setup
    		Enable IPv6: Yes
    		IP address(es): fe80:0000:0000:0000:02e0:81ff:fe5f:ef93/64
    
    
    Network Setup - Service Setup:
    		Enable LPD Printing Service: Yes
    		Default LPD Queue: Print
    
    		Enable Windows Printing Service: No
    
    		Enable Web Services: Yes
    		Enable IPP: Yes
    		Enable Port 9100: Yes
    		9100 Queue: Print
    
    	Email Services
    		Enable E-mail Services: No
    
    		Enable Scan: Yes
    		Default File Format: PDF
    		Clear Each Scan Job: 1 day after scan
    
    	FTP Setup
    		Enable Scan to FTP: Yes
    		Enable FTP Printing: Yes
    		Require Password for Printing: No
    		Timeout (sec): 30
    		Default FTP Queue: Print
    		Use FTP Passive Mode: No
    
    	Other Services
    		Enable SNMP: Yes
    		Security Level: Medium
    
    		Enable LDAP: No
    
    
    Printer Setup - 50C-KM Setup:
    		Publish Direct Connection: Yes
    		Publish Print Queue: Yes
    		Publish Hold Queue: Yes
    
    	PS Setup
    		Convert Paper Sizes: No
    		Default Paper Sizes: US
    		Print Cover Page: No
    		Print to PS Error: No
    		Allow Courier Substitution: Yes
    		Color Mode: CMYK
    		Page Order: Forward
    		Face-Down Printing: Face Down
    		Print Master: Yes
    		Screen Selection: Dot Screen
    		Scale to Fit: Off
    
    	PCL Setup
    		Default Orientation: Portrait
    		Symbol Set: ASCII
    		Font Source: Internal
    		Append CR to LF: Yes
    		Paper Size For System Pages: US
    
    	Color Setup
    		RGB Source Profile: Fiery RGB v2
    		Rendering Style: Presentation
    		CMYK Simulation Profile: ISO Coated
    		CMYK Simulation Method: Full (Output GCR)
    		RGB Separation: Output
    		Use Media Defined Profile: On
    		Output Profile: Plain64 Normal D Fiery 50C-KM v4F
    		Black Text/Graphics: Pure Black On
    		Black Overprint: Text/Graphics
    		Spot Color Matching: On
    		Print gray using black only (RGB): Text/Graphics/Images
    		Print gray using black only (CMYK): Text/Graphics/Images
    
    	VDP Setup
    		Freeform  1 Record Length: FreeForm Master
    
    	Job Log Setup
    		Auto Print Job Log Every 55 Jobs: No
    		Secure Job Log: Yes
    		Job Log Page Size: Tabloid/A3
    
    
    Printer Installed Options:
    		Document Feeder
    		Staple & Fold Finisher
    		LCT
    
    
    System Updates - Patches Installed:
    		1-RHZ8E
    		1-Q97NT
    		1-RUCVX
    I just recently started having a problem with the calibrator tool, it does not work anymore. Up until a few weeks ago, it worked fine. Between now and then, really nothing has changed on my workstation AFAIK - I haven't really updated any software I see that could cause an issue here, and I haven't really installed many other programs either.

    My normal procedure - plug in ES1000, launch CWS5 (or pull it up, it's usually always open). Click Calibrate, choose ES-1000, print measurement page, click Measure, 34 sorted patches/11x17, click OK. "Place ES1000 in tray", click OK. A few seconds later an error message pops up that says "Calibration failed!" and I click OK.

    I've tried different USB ports on this computer, they all have the same result.
    There are no problems with the densitometer itself; it works fine on an XP32 machine in back also running CWS5 (5.11 I believe).

    I've tried uninstalling CWS and reinstalling it, even updating it now that 5.2 is out. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling/updating Java, that hasn't fixed it.

    Anyone have any ideas?
    I've checked other threads - my language settings and whatnot are already on US - English, it's not that.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I've been having a similar problem - my ES-1000 quit working. The difference is, when I tell it to measure the 34 patches, it doesn't do ANYthing, not even an error message. I can unistall the ES-1000 and it easily gets redetected and installed when plugged into the USB port, but still doesn't respond inside the calibration window. I'm suspecting that something happened on a previous update or software reload. That maybe now Command Workstation isn't looking in the right place or some software got deleted that it needs...?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    729

    Default

    What does Device Manager show? Is there an "!" shown next to that device indicating driver not correctly loading?

    It might be wise to run the diagnostic utility for this device. It is easy to install and run, and takes only a minute or two to run. It will perform a series of tests and will show results in real time (you can save results as well)

    Diags can be downloaded from:

    http://www.xrite.com/product_overvie...SoftwareID=506

    I do know that latest CWS on EFI download site, when loaded on a 64-bit Windows OS, will function fine when using ES-1000 for Calibrator or Spot-On

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_W View Post
    What does Device Manager show? Is there an "!" shown next to that device indicating driver not correctly loading?
    Nope.
    At the bottom it says "X-Rite Devices", if I drop that down it lists i1 Pro and "The device is working properly".

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_W View Post
    It might be wise to run the diagnostic utility for this device.
    My results
    Code:
    General Information
      Date and Time: 10/12/2010 2:06:03 PM
      Application version: Version 2.5.1
      SDK version i1: Version 3.4.0  Build 131
      SDK version iO: Version 1.1.2  Build 100
      SDK version iSis: Version 1.0.6  Build 72
      Platform: Microsoft Windows ???, 
    
    Device Information
      Device type: i1Pro (UV CUT filter) [ Emission  Reflectance  Reflectance Scan ]
      Serial number: 850258
      Firmware version: 502
      CPLD version: 999
      Dark measurement count: 1562
      Lamp burning time: 6902.67 seconds
      Spot measurement count: 1274
      Scan measurement count: 265
    
    Dongle Test
      Module "Scanner" is not licensed
      Module "Monitor" is not licensed
      Module "Printer" is not licensed
      Module "Printer RGB only" is not licensed
      Module "Printer CMYK only" is not licensed
      Module "Beamer" is not licensed
      Module "Printer Easy RGB" is not licensed
      Module "Printer Easy CMYK" is not licensed
      Module "Digicam" is not licensed
      Module "Editor" is not licensed
    
    Button Test
      Button is working normally
    
    Calibration
      Emission calibration: Successful
    
    Emission Test
      White measurement: Successful
      Gray measurement: Successful
      Black measurement: Successful
      Red measurement: Successful
      Green measurement: Successful
      Blue measurement: Successful
      Emission Test: Pass
    
    Dark measurement
      Dark measurement: Pass
    
    Noise Measurement
      Noise measurement: Pass
    
    Lamp test
      Reflectance calibration: Not successful
    
    *** FAIL ***
    Not sure what the reflectance calibration is. It didn't ask me to do anything at that point, it just said the above.

    edit
    If I do the test on the other workstation that it calibrates OK on, it passes.
    Code:
    General Information
      Date and Time: 10/12/2010 2:21:34 PM
      Application version: Version 2.5.1
      SDK version i1: Version 3.4.0  Build 131
      SDK version iO: Version 1.1.2  Build 100
      SDK version iSis: Version 1.0.6  Build 72
      Platform: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3
    
    Device Information
      Device type: i1Pro (UV CUT filter) [ Emission  Reflectance  Reflectance Scan ]
      Serial number: 850258
      Firmware version: 502
      CPLD version: 999
      Dark measurement count: 1570
      Lamp burning time: 6902.67 seconds
      Spot measurement count: 1274
      Scan measurement count: 265
    
    Dongle Test
      Module "Scanner" is not licensed
      Module "Monitor" is not licensed
      Module "Printer" is not licensed
      Module "Printer RGB only" is not licensed
      Module "Printer CMYK only" is not licensed
      Module "Beamer" is not licensed
      Module "Printer Easy RGB" is not licensed
      Module "Printer Easy CMYK" is not licensed
      Module "Digicam" is not licensed
      Module "Editor" is not licensed
    
    Button Test
      Button is working normally
    
    Calibration
      Emission calibration: Successful
    
    Emission Test
      White measurement: Successful
      Gray measurement: Successful
      Black measurement: Successful
      Red measurement: Successful
      Green measurement: Successful
      Blue measurement: Successful
      Emission Test: Pass
    
    Dark measurement
      Dark measurement: Pass
    
    Noise Measurement
      Noise measurement: Pass
    
    Lamp test
      Reflectance calibration: Successful
      Reflectance measurement: Successful
      Check measurement result: Successful
    
    Reflectance Test
      Reflectance calibration: Successful
      Reflectance spot test: Successful
      Scanning calibration: Successful
      Reflectance scan test: Successful
      Measurement 1: Successful
      Measurement 2: Successful
      Measurement 3: Successful
      Measurement 4: Successful
      Measurement 5: Successful
      Measurement 6: Successful
      Measurement 7: Successful
      Measurement 8: Successful
      Measurement 9: Successful
      Measurement 10: Successful
      Reflectance drift test: Pass
    
    
    *** PASS ***
    Last edited by zero2dash; 10-12-2010 at 12:27 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Efi es-1000

    I am also getting this error attempting to calibrate using CWS 5 on a windows xp machine. When I hit the measure button to read swatches in comes up with "Calibration Fail!" error. I ran i1 diagnostics tool and came up with this report:



    *** Test report ***

    This test performs a functionality check of your Eye-One.
    It will take a few minutes. During the test you will be requested to push the Eye-One
    measurement button, to set the Eye-One on the white reference or on the computer screen.
    Please follow the instructions carefully.

    Quit all other applications working with your Eye-One before you start the test.
    Check out the help for further information on the test or to find out what to do in case
    of a test failure.


    Device found

    Eye-One test started
    Date: 11/1/2010 Time: 13:50
    Loading device information
    Loaded

    Device information:
    Device type: Eye-One pro
    Software version: 5.05
    CPLD version: 9.99

    Measurement log:
    Lamp burning time: 0.00h
    Spot measurement count: 1
    Strip measurement count: 0

    Dongle information:
    Scanner: not licensed
    Monitor: not licensed
    Printer: not licensed
    Printer RGB only: not licensed
    Printer CMYK only: not licensed
    Beamer: not licensed

    Button test: Pass
    Dark measurement: Pass
    Electronic noise: Pass
    Emission measurement: Pass
    Reflectance spot measurement: Fail

    Operating system: WINDOWS
    Program version: Diagnostics Tool 1.1.0

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Santa Barbara, California
    Posts
    2

    Default EFI-es1000

    I'm getting the same error.

    is there any way to get the reference file for the calibration so i can instead use my i1 iSis and simply import the results that way?

    would love to get this resolved quickly.

    thanks
    gabe

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    any updates on this issue? I have 2 new efi controllers running winxp x64 and device manager says xrite is working properly however, I get a cailabratiuon failed and the x-rite diag tool doesn't see it either. re-installed efi OS and re-installed a proper win xp x64 bit driver from x-rite. Called x-rite and they can not find the answer. x-rite seems to think it's an o.s issue...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Santa Barbara, California
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I tried a different i1 unit and it worked perfectly. I sent the first one to xrite to be serviced.

    gabe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts