Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: 2GB limit?

  1. #1
    oxident is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor oxident is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    678

    Default 2GB limit?

    Hi!

    It seems that the bustled Fiery controller on our Xerox DC252 has a 2GB file size limit for printjobs. Wow, I thought those limitations shouldn't matter with modern filesystems...

    Any chances that EFI could fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    44

    Default File size

    It's all about the OS running on the Fiery. Even the big Fierys used on the large production gear are limited to 3GB by the XP OS they run on. Until they move development to a newer platform, we will be stuck at that limit. Now, that being said, there are certainly ways to design a file so as not to create a 2 or 3 GB spool file. If your files are routinely getting that large, perhaps taking a look at how you are importing images into your design software etc. might be a help.
    Brian Miller
    Lewan and Assoc.
    http://www.lewan.com

  3. #3
    shmegenke is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor shmegenke is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    77

    Default

    I've been told that this is a limitaton of the Adobe PS interpreter - not the filesystem. It really has nothing to do with the OS.

    I also hear that some newer Server (non-bustled) products with the latest PS interpreter may have a higher limit - around 4GB.

    Still - Excellent point about taking a look at how you are importing images into your design software.


    S

  4. #4
    djzolla is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor djzolla is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    136

    Default

    hi there

    Is there anything from the Fiery moderators to comment on this post? It would be nice to take something rock solid to our clients please. We have the same issue at a number of our clients unfortunately.

    Thanks in advance

    Paul

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    149

    Default

    There's no way to provide a single answer to rule them all with this question. It depends on the OS which your Fiery is running on, Fiery System SW version, and file type being printed. If you want a concrete answer, the best place to go is to whoever made the copier the Fiery is connected to since the individual specifications of each product are negotiated and agreed upon on a product-by-product basis.

  6. #6
    djzolla is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor djzolla is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Hi Nick

    Ultimately that is a dead end. No OEM has this answer unfortunately. I have tried going through every channel with Xeroxs to find a definitive answer. The only time I have seen this issue is on a Xerox DC 252 and an EX260 running Windows XP.

    If the "disk full" error pops on the Fiery using the system mentioned above what is the problem? What is the limit set on this Fiery device and why? How is this limit set? If you use a standard tcpip port it goes through without an issue. So it is only LPR?

    Getting a better understanding of the above will give me something to work with our clients with these devices.

    thanks

    Paul

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    149

    Default

    I'm sorry that you're running into a dead end on this with Xerox. I was answering the general question of "what's the limit" with the fact that it depends on many things. For your specific product, I'll have to defer to someone who's an expert on it (you may have noticed that EFI moderators are all proficient in different areas).

    But yes, file size limits you may run into. And this is just on the Fiery Server:
    • Operating System limits
    • Adobe CPSI limits
    • File format limits
    Also, those limits all interact with each other--adding to the confusion.

    I'm not aware of any disk full errors caused by this kind of thing though. Usually when a file gets to be too big, it will error out at some level and everything else proceeds normally. Where are you seeing that error message occur?

  8. #8
    djzolla is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor djzolla is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Hi Nick

    Thanks for the response. Basically everytime a file spools to bigger than 2gb the disk full error appears on this device. The file we were testing spools to 2.7gb.

    The file is printed from a Mac from Indesign (the tests we have run have only been from indesign). Ultimately the client does not want to create PDF's. It seems strange that if I print this same file to a Imagepass A1 (same system 8 R2) it doesn't flash up the disk full message in CWS.

    Any thought of how we can overcome this?

    Thanks

    Paul

  9. #9
    djzolla is offline Fiery Forum Expert Contributor djzolla is on a distinguished path
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Well it seems as though it is a WIn XP SP2 limitation. Are we able to upgrade XP to SP3 from MS? Or does it cause the rip to fail if you did this?

    thanks

    paul

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Skævinge, Denmark
    Posts
    75

    Default

    I've had a similar issue with a Xerox Workcenter 7345 and a "office controller"...
    The issue here was that the LPD port on the workcenter had a timeout set to about 30 seconds.

    So when the customer tried to RIP the 4GB indesign document the Workcenter recieved the first page then sent a "job cancel" to the RIP. So I increased the timeout on LPD to about 300 seconds which solved the issue.

    However on a DC-series im quite certain you can't find the LPD but give it a go ...
    login from the RIP via http://100.100.100.101

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts