PDA

View Full Version : Fiery Location lost connection



printmeister
09-01-2015, 08:58 AM
Our JobFlow workstation has lost network connectivity to our Fiery System 9 Rel 2 server through Fiery JobFlow Locations. (all other locations are good)
This Fiery server is available through Command Workstation 5.7, via pinging the IP, and navigating to the IP address in any browser takes us to the Fiery Server Webtools Home page.
I.e., we can find nothing wrong IT-wise on our end.

Hans_S
09-01-2015, 11:12 AM
Did you try to go to Locations, Fiery and re-test the connection?

printmeister
09-01-2015, 11:17 AM
Yes, it reads 'Fiery or Fiery Central server is unavailable.'
We also restarted the browser and restarted the JobFlow PC.

Hans_S
09-01-2015, 11:22 AM
That's not good. We will reach out to you via email to see what's going on. I assume nothing changed on the Fiery?

printmeister
09-01-2015, 11:40 AM
No changes to Fiery - we can access it multiple ways as mentioned in my opening post - really strange.

printmeister
09-01-2015, 12:08 PM
OK, I shut down the JobFlow PC (instead of just restarting), booted up, and now the connection is back. :confused:
Oh, and I installed the latest version of Java...

Hans_S
09-01-2015, 12:45 PM
Updated Java on the Fiery or on the JobFlow server? Confused as well...
--
Hans

printmeister
09-01-2015, 12:53 PM
I installed the Java update on the JobFlow server - I don't believe that is at all related to the problem, so that was a lame attempt at humor.

cecprepress
09-22-2015, 06:14 AM
I've experienced a similar problem with locations no longer being connected. Both with Fiery Servers and frequently with Fiery Central (which is where JobFlow is installed - so it is losing the connection to the server it is running on).
I have not found a sure-fire way to fix it. At least the last 2 times it has happened I've had to restart and/or completely power-cycle the server 2-3 times to get all the connections back. Struggling with this at the moment, in fact.

dedelman
04-05-2016, 03:47 PM
I have a client who is using job flow with the maximum number of default workflows in the configuration file. This has not yet been increased.

They are saying that they regularly loosing connection with errors to jobs being submitted to the Fiery FS150.

This one device sits on a different sub-net and IP range to all of the other devices on their network including the JobFlow server. There are two RIP's at site using the JobFlow server.

A Tracert lookup to the one with issues results in multiple network hops (4) while the other Fiery on the same network only takes (1) with low times to respond at say 1ms.

Is there specific timers that can be adjusted in the config file to space out the polling on smart folders and also timeouts to extent to possibly aid in a successful transfer to the RIP?

Also

Is there a way errored jobs could be re-submitted on the user interface?

Thanks,
Dean

dedelman
04-05-2016, 04:02 PM
Yes, it reads 'Fiery or Fiery Central server is unavailable.'
We also restarted the browser and restarted the JobFlow PC.

I have heard of this issue from a client and their Fiery connection was across a different IP range. They may have had it shifted into the same range as all of the other devices now?

It was being resolved by rebooting the Fiery controller, I believe this may be sending advertising packets on the network which perhaps re-establishes it's connection with the Fiery JobFlow server. Jobs then process as normal.

I suspect rebooting the JobFlow server or restarting JobFlow services may have a similar effect but have not tested it.

Hans_S
04-05-2016, 04:20 PM
Dean, thanks for reaching out. If possible I would like to have someone from the team have a look at the system. These types of errors should not occur and I apologize for the inconvenience.

Please leave your contact details with me at hans.sep[at]efi.com and we will take the necessary next steps. Thanks.
--
Hans Sep, product manager Fiery JobFlow


I have a client who is using job flow with the maximum number of default workflows in the configuration file. This has not yet been increased.

They are saying that they regularly loosing connection with errors to jobs being submitted to the Fiery FS150.

This one device sits on a different sub-net and IP range to all of the other devices on their network including the JobFlow server. There are two RIP's at site using the JobFlow server.

A Tracert lookup to the one with issues results in multiple network hops (4) while the other Fiery on the same network only takes (1) with low times to respond at say 1ms.

Is there specific timers that can be adjusted in the config file to space out the polling on smart folders and also timeouts to extent to possibly aid in a successful transfer to the RIP?

Also

Is there a way errored jobs could be re-submitted on the user interface?

Thanks,
Dean

strido
04-22-2016, 11:56 AM
I'm kicking the tires on JobFlow right now and coming across the same issue. Jobs will fail going to the output (Fiery version 5.8) on a different network IP addresses. Testing the connection under Locations will tell me it's unavailable.

Putting the IP address back in as if I'm setting up a new location will result in a successful test. I'll hit update, but that's as far as it goes. Any attempts to run a job will fail on output.

Hans_S
04-22-2016, 12:04 PM
Hi strido, is the Fiery on a completely different subnet?
--
Hans Sep, product manager Fiery JobFlow

strido
04-25-2016, 06:28 AM
Yes it is.