PDA

View Full Version : Fiery Controller E-7100 Issues Mac OSX

hschrader
10-13-2010, 10:05 AM
I am brand new to Fiery and even more new to Mac OSX. I am trying to figure out how to go about adding our E-7100 Fiery Controller (which runs on our Ricoh MPC6000) on a group of Macs that we've just added to our windows server based network. I was able to add the printer but am not sure how to get the fiery feature to work within Mac OSX. Any help or feedback regarding this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Nick_V
10-13-2010, 11:09 AM
What version of MacOSX? If you're running 10.6, you'll need to get the 10.6 drivers from Ricoh. The E-7100 predates the release of 10.6 so the 10.6-compatible drivers don't come packaged with it.

You want the PPD installer listed under Mac10.6 here:
http://support.ricoh.com/bb/html/dr_ut_e/rc2/model/e_7100_v11/e_7100_v11en.htm

hschrader
10-13-2010, 12:11 PM
What does the PPD installer do? I have the Ricoh set up as an IP printer with our IP address and the driver that came out of the Ricoh snow leopard package. I'm so unfamiliar with the Mac OSX. And yes it is 10.6 version.

Nick_V
10-14-2010, 06:04 PM
I'm confused now which driver you're using. "Ricoh snow leopard package" is not a way of distributing Fiery drivers that I'm aware of.

Are you talking about this package?
http://support.apple.com/downloads/Ricoh_Printer_Drivers_for_Mac_OS_X_v10_6

If so, those are drivers for Ricoh printers, not Fiery printers. You want the driver for the E-7100v1.1. The Aficio MPC6000 drivers on the Apple site are only for use with the Ricoh controller.

Fiery drivers are from the link I posted before. The PPD installer installs the driver you need to print from MacOSX 10.6.

Nick_V
10-14-2010, 06:06 PM
Also, it's totally understandable to be confused by the fact that Ricoh's drivers are distributed by Apple and EFI's drivers are distributed by Ricoh.

hschrader
10-26-2010, 12:25 PM